2018 Honorees

15th Annual Friends of National Service Awards
Tuesday February 13, 2018

Edward M. Kennedy National Service Lifetime Leadership Award
For life-long dedication to citizen service and for outstanding leadership in advancing national service as a civic commitment and legislative priority
Representative Doris Matsui of California

Citizen Service Award
For investing in the civic health of our nation through support of national service
Governor Haley Barbour of Mississippi
Michael and Susan Dell

Service to Country Award
For life-long devotion to country through citizen and public service and for exceptional leadership in advancing national service to solve community problems
Senator John McCain of Arizona

Distinguished Service Award
For prioritizing national service funding and legislation to expand high-quality opportunities for citizens to serve their communities and our country
Senator Bill Cassidy of Louisiana
Senator Chris Coons of Delaware

Congressional Service Award
For remarkable commitment to national service as a strategy to solve local and national challenges.
Senator Roy Blunt of Missouri
Senator Patty Murray of Washington
Representative Susan Brooks of Indiana
Representative Billy Long of Missouri

Outstanding New Member Award
For first-term members of Congress who have worked to elevate national service as a legislative priority
Senator John Kennedy of Louisiana
Representative Pramila Jayapal of Washington

State Leadership Award
For leadership and innovation in leveraging national service to meet state needs.
Governor Jay Inslee of Washington
Lt. Governor William Nungesser of Louisiana

Local Leadership Award
For leadership and innovation in leveraging national service to meet local needs.
Mayor Ethan Berkowitz of Anchorage, Alaska
Mayor Sam Liccardo of San Jose, California

Service in Media Award
For using journalism to raise awareness of and to encourage Americans’ participation in national service.
The Joplin Globe
Tulsa World

Franklin D. Roosevelt Service and Conservation Corps Leadership Award
For championing the important role of Service and Conservation Corps in modern day America, reflective of the legendary ideals and work accomplished by Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Depression Era Civilian Conservation Corps.
Senator Lamar Alexander of Tennessee


Past Award Winners